The YES Home Grown Awards 2015 – The Winners & Look Back

The YES Home Grown Awards 2015 – The Winners & Look Back

25th of October is another day etched in the history of the home music scene Sri Lanka for it’s night saw 10 wins and 6 stellar performances by some of Lanka’s finest at the Stein Studios, Ratmalana. Here’s a breakdown 😉

Our Heartiest To The Winners

Best Acoustic Track 

  • Nathan Eardly – Love Will Set You Free (winner)
    Asela Perera Ft Aayushi – Fire / Desire
    Joshua Vittachi – Lost
    CC – Remember Me
    Dilshan Basnayake Ft Sheaam Deen – Heart On 5th Gear

Best Cover

  • Sheaan Deen Ft Vy – The Real Wrapup 2013 (winner)
    Mirantha Jayathilaka – Tenerife Sea
    Julian Simonsz – I Do It For You
    Sahashra – Wrecking Ball
    Orry Jackson – Wake Me Up

Best Hip Hop, Reggae Or Rap Track 

  • Melodiko & Lankino Ft Bronz – Roots (winner)
    Deyo Ft Prolific Jason, Markia & Janani – Never Lose
    Smokani – Prometheus (52 Bars)
    Markia – Fly Away
    Spek – Look Me Up

Best Electronica Track 

  • Nisho Ft Antoinette Wheelan – Music In My Soul (winner)
    Ranidu – Bailabounce
    Shiran-Ta – Bajauwa
    Eranga Jayawansa Ft Mark Frisch – Whole Of My Heart
    Van Luup – Sama

Best Producer 

  • Pasan Liyanage (for his single with Georgie Alice – Hold Your Hands) – Winner
    Sheaam Deen – Afterglow
    Ravin David Ratnam – Love Will Set You Free (by Nathan Eardly)
    Manaram Gunathilaka – Happy Pill (by Naomi Wijemanne)
    Ashanthi & Shenal Maddumage – Letting Your Love (by Ashanthi Ft Reshmonu)

The YES Home Grown Honor Award 

  • Alien Accent

Best Male 

  • Julian Simonsz – I Do It For You (winner)
    Sheaam Deen – Afterglow
    David Senn – Mysterious
    Akram – Pick You Up
    Andrew De Silva – I See The Future

Best Female 

  • Ashanthi Ft ReshMonu – Letting Your Love (winner)
    Senani – Free
    Naomi Wijemanne – Happy Pill
    Trinaty – So Far Away
    Rowie Jay – Right In The Pocket

Best Band, Duo Or Group 

  • Wagon Park – Don (winner)
    Tantrum – Carnival Of Rust (cover)
    The Sheyana Band – Keep The Change
    Sahashra Ft Pasan Liyanage – Rock My World
    Melodiko & Lankino – Sunshine

The YES Home Grown Listener Pick 

  • Akram – Pick You Up (winner)
    Delvin Hindle – Wish You Were Here
    Senani – Free
    SunJ Bandara – Say You Love Me
    Naomi Wijemanne – Happy Pill

The night also saw some stellar, never to be repeated performances by..

Pasan Liyanage, Harshana Wijeyasingha, Sandeep Milan John, Rangana & his awesome drummers (opening act) – This was a killer merger of bailatronic, Sax, Drums and Piano.


Melissa Stephen, The Drill Team & Salvage’s ultimate mashup of “Believe”, “Deviyange Bare” & “Identity” (this is the first time in the history of SL Awards that a body of artists teamed up for a Sinhala/English/Rap & Rock merger Live)


photo credit: sasith gamage

The Honor award tribute performance of “Southern Skies” by The Rebels, Eshantha Perera & Natasha Soysa (for Alien Accent)


photo credits: Tia G

The At Last Project did a mashup of “One Love” & “Happy Pill”, a first time for the band.

at last

photo credits: gayantha perera (missing in the pic is Chandimal)

Akram & Devashrie performed “Pick You Up” which saw the single take on some interesting turns cuz hey, its one of those fun singles!

pre show

A pre show picture cuz hey, this was all kinds of rare! photo credits: Ashanthi Colombage

And the closing act was also a pretty special one as this is his first performance in his motherland – Julian Simonsz ended the night on a high with “I Do It For You”.


What else was major big at the awards? 

Wagon Park’s Win 


photo credits: Wagon Park’s awesome manager Sumedha Nuwan who is not in the pic 

“Don” is the first song in Dhivehi done by a Lankan band to not only own the number 1 spot on The YES Home Grown Top 15 due to popular demand last year and this year, was a lucky charm for the band, helping them bag the coveted Mask of “Best Band, Duo Or Group” category.



Previous Van Luup - Samurai (The EP)
Next Niranjan's Got Solo Material Coming Out Soon!

About author

You might also like

Senani – Free (original radio mix)

we love the brand of soul she bring in to the table, see how you dig her single “Free” which has been promoted quite a bit on media. She’s promised

New Music : DJ KAAI – Ice Town (Original Mix)

Dj & Producer Kaai is back with this uplifting, laid back effort titled ‘Ice Town’. A kinda perfection, you betcha!

Dropwizz x The Weeknd – Drunk In Love

we’ve heard this kid take on some pretty good songs and this has to be a first – a trap remix of a cover that’s so badass…that the music makes